Who’s in the running to become School Business Manager of the Year?

This year, TES (Times Educational Supplement) launch their annual awards show with a long-awaited but welcome addition, the ‘School Business Manager of the Year’ category. We couldn’t let the opportunity to lend support pass us by and decided to proudly sponsor the new category without hesitation.

As a business, for a long time we’ve tried to show the hard-working, unsung heroes of the education sector that we understand and appreciate the contribution they make on a daily basis. As seen in our ‘Smarter SBM’ campaign, we couldn’t resist supporting the message that this award sends out to a wider audience:

School Business Managers are integral. They should be recognised. They should be celebrated.


So, who’s made the shortlist?

We know there are literally thousands of SBMs out there who are more than worthy of this fantastic accolade.  Unfortunately, only an incredible six made the shortlist and only one will receive the award. Our Managing Director Chris Mahady (and a lesser known comic, Harry Hill) will be on hand to give the deserved winner their trophy on 21st June at the Grosvenor House Hotel in Park Lane, London. Here is the final shortlist:


Mark ReedAcademy@Worden, Lancashire

Robin FosterBournemouth Collegiate School, Dorset

Lindsey PageFairmeadows Foundation Primary School, Derbyshire

Derryk GraySt Ninian’s High School, East Dunbartonshire

Stephen JohnsonNorthwood Community Primary School, Merseyside

Lisa BarkerWest Hatch High School, Essex


We look forward to meeting each of the nominees on the night and we wish them all the best of luck! We’re expecting and encouraging even more school business professionals to apply for the award next year…

You can find out more about the awards on the TES website or by following TES on Twitter (@tes). Follow @gls_education for more updates about the School Business Manager of the Year Award. Browse our Smart Hub for lots of useful articles written by leading school business professionals.